Seven Spirits of God (last update to this study was made on 04/11/2003)

The apostle John wrote of the seven Spirits which are before the throne of God.(Rev 1:4). We also see mention of the seven Spirits of God in other places of scripture, including Revelation 3:1, 4:5 and 5:6. These same seven Spirits are described by the prophet Isaiah "And the spirit of the LORD shall rest upon him, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of counsel and might, the spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD" (Isa. 11:3 KJV).

The seven Spirits have specific names as to their function in the kingdom of God. They are again the spirit of the LORD, the spirit of wisdom, the spirit of understanding, the spirit of counsel, the spirit of might, the spirit of knowledge, and the spirit of the fear (reverance) of the LORD.

At various times in our lives, the LORD has revealed Himself to us by one of these seven Spirits according to our need or circumstance. As we grow in the LORD and we come to know Him in our Christian experience, He shall continue to reveal His Spirit with each of His seven Spirits in greater measure. In turn, we shall manifest all seven of the Spirits of God to other people as it is sent forth into all the earth. The seven Spirits of God is a positive manifestation as these qualities of His Spirit proceed out from His position of authority and headship of His throne.